Sunday, October 19, 2014

Frozen and Spiderman Bagged Apples {Press Release} | A Disney Mom's Thoughts

I am always trying to get my family, and myself, to eat better.  We need to start eating more fresh fruits and vegetables instead of processed junk.  Being a big Disney family, it always helps when Disney adds it's label to these healthy foods!  My youngest would definitely choose the "Let it Go" apples, while my middle son would choose Spiderman.  These would also be a great addition to our food supply on our next WDW vacation!  

Disney Consumer Products to Showcase New Frozen and Spider-Man-Branded Bagged Apples at the PMA Fresh Summit Convention & Expo
More than 4.1 Billion Servings of Disney-Branded Fruits and Vegetables Served Since 2006

To tweet this release, copy and paste to your twitter handle with the hashtag#DisneyTryIt

Friday, October 17, 2014

Walt Disney World Freebie Friday: Wishes Nighttime Spectacular | A Disney Mom's Thoughts

Wishes Nighttime Spectacular is a MUST see during any trip to the Magic Kingdom!  But did you know you don't have to be inside the Magic Kingdom to appreciate this fireworks show?

You can view this show for FREE from several other locations on property.  Two of my favorite are from the beach at the Polynesian Resort and the roof of the Contemporary Resort.  Not only can you see the fireworks from these locations, you can also hear the music!  Disney pipes in the music to this show on the beach and on the roof!

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Meat Loaf from 50's Prime Time Cafe Recipe | A Disney Mom's Thoughts

Last night dad made dinner for us.  He chose meat loaf.  After he had finished prepping and it was cooking, he informed us that the recipe he used was from the 50's Prime Time Cafe at Hollywood Studios.  He said since we aren't eating there on our upcoming trip, we had to have it at home!  He found the recipe from Mr. Food's Disney inspired Recipes.

Who says he's not excited about this trip?!?! :)
Dad's Meat Loaf- 50's Prime Time Cafe

What You'll Need:1 pound ground beef
1 pound ground pork
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
2 eggs
1/2 cup ketchup, divided
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon light brown sugar

What To Do:
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Coat a 9- x 5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.
  • In a large bowl, combine beef, pork, onion, bread crumbs, eggs, 1/4 cup ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, salt, and pepper; mix well. Press mixture into prepared pan.
  • In a small bowl, combine remaining ketchup and brown sugar; brush over meat loaf.
  • Bake 1 to 1-1/4 hours, or until juices run clear. Allow to sit 5 minutes, then slice and serve.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Star Wars Reads Day- A Disappointment | A Disney Mom's Thoughts

We were so excited about Star Wars Reads day last Saturday, October 11, 2014.  C-man and I had read all about it on the web site and I even shared all the details here on my blog.  When we found out our local Books A Million was participating, we planned our day around this event.  C-man wore his Star Wars shirt and Big E even stayed home with daddy so we could have some Star Wars time together.  

When we got to BAM, there was nothing.  We looked on our own all around the store and there were no signs of Star Wars Reads Day.  We arrived around 2:10 and the event "started" at 2:00.  I thought they may just be a bit behind.  When we asked the customer service desk about it, they directed us to the Star Wars section of books.  They didn't know about Star Wars Reads Day.  

We were quite disappointed.  Instead of hearing Star Wars books, maybe participating in a craft or a game, we got to pick out Star Wars books to buy and read at home.  Oh, we also got to try on Pug Dog masks.

Next year, I'll just plan to do my own Star Wars Reads Day at home. :(

Did anyone else participate?  I hope you had better luck than we did!

Monday, October 13, 2014

Disney Vera Bradley {Giveaway} | A Disney Mom's Thoughts

Hey moms... is it time you do something for you?  A Disney Mom's Thoughts has partnered up with a few of our Disney blogging friends to offer you a chance to win this beautiful Vera Bradley Hipster purse in the popular “Where’s Mickey?” pattern! The Vera Bradley for Disney Parks patterns are exclusive to Disney Destinations and!
Purse Features:

The Vera Bradley’s Where’s Mickey? Hipster has vibrant shades of blue and green, and features the classic Mickey icon. There are lots of pockets, an adjustable crossbody strap and zippered closure. Perfect for organizing all those trinkets that end up in mom's purse!

Win It:

  • This giveaway will run from Monday, October 13th until 11:59PM Sunday, October 19th Central Standard Time.
  • Winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter after verfication of entries, and then notified via email.
  • To officially accept the prize, the winner must respond by email within 48 hours. Make SURE to include a valid email address that you check regularly.
  • The giveaway is open to residents of the Continental United States only, except where prohibited by law, and you must be 18 years of age or older to participate.
  • The lucky winner will be announced on Disney Mamas after they have accepted their prize.
Entering is easy via the Rafflecopter form below!

This Vera Bradley Giveaway is brought to you by the following Disney Bloggers! Be sure to check out their sites!  Good Luck!

Friday, October 10, 2014

Marvel Super Hero Sweepstakes {Press Release} | A Disney Mom's Thoughts

image from


Who: Disney Consumer Products and Disney Cruise Line

What: Power Up Like A Marvel Super Hero and You Could Win a Disney Vacation for four

Why: In celebration of Marvel Super Hero September, Disney Consumer Products and Disney Cruise Line have partnered to celebrate all things Marvel. Consumers have a chance to win a seven-night Caribbean Cruise for four aboard the Disney Magic to set sail like a Super Hero.

When: NOW thru Wednesday, October 15, 2014 – FINAL WEEK TO ENTER!